top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

A Necessary Evil?

If you asked me six years when I started networking if it was easy - I would say no. If you ask me today, I would say: "It gets easier with time."

At my first networking event, I spruced myself up, grabbed some business cards, and drove to the location...I walked into the room and freaked out. Here were all of these seasoned professionals, clearly much older than myself, just chatting away. I will be honest and say that I soon found myself hiding the corner, literally, calling my my sister and having a separate conversation to look like I was on a business call. I left soon after the keynote given by a friend of mine.

Fast forward to six years later, last night to be exact, and wow...I have evolved! I have found that networking is just having a conversation with someone. Easier said that done, I know, but it is worth a try. You never know what connections you will make.

I have read tons of articles since that panic attack six years and have come across some great tips...but here are some of my own that I have found to HONESTLY work:

- Always have business cards. Someone is bound to ask you for it AND you will feel like a fish out of water without them...especially when you're searching for a napkin and pen to write your information down.

- Start a conversation. I always struggled with this so now I start with - "Hi I'm Victory...what's your name...what do YOU do? What do YOU need help with? Or why are you here today/what connections are YOU hoping to make? Taking the pressure of yourself for a bit helps - become the listener. You are bound to hear things you can talk about once they start talking about themselves. If not, you can say, "that's great! I'm so glad you're here...I (insert what you do and the problems you solve)..." and then can usually find the connection.

- Do not assume that everyone is out to get you. This was always tough for me because when I first started everyone asked if I was a student volunteer or commented on how young I was. You know what? It is GREAT that you are young! It is great that you are getting a head start on your peers! And if you're not so young, who cares? You have something to offer - focus on why you are there and talk about it. You are not there for someone's opinion - you are there to get a job done and make connections.

- Know your points. You have to go in to a networking event having some idea what you are there for. Are you there because it is an inter-chamber of commerce meeting and your looking to meet county executives? Are you there to make connections with people who have influence in schools? Know what your purpose is going in.

- Know how you can help others. Do not go in to an event thinking solely about yourself - what can you give others? When you create value and can give value, you will get value in return.

Ok, so no one has died from networking...and it really is not all that evil, but for many, it is a fear that we have to conquer. The most simple way to say it is: go in prepared. Know what you want to say or get out of the event, have your cards ready, and be ready to learn about others just as much as you want to share about yourself. I trust that by following the above steps, you can conquer this 'necessary evil'!

Share with me in the comment box below: Have you ever attended a networking event? What was your experience like?

Networking.jpg

Image credit: http://www.thebostoninvestor.com/decembers-unofficial-biggerpockets-boston-networking-event/

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Google+ Clean Grey
No tags yet.

FOLLOW ME:

I'm a 26 year-old entrepreneur helping others Be Victorious in all that they do. Click "About" to find out more.

bottom of page